B-A-N-A-N-A Pudding

Desserts. Double the sugar, but double the happiness–at least that’s what I think. I’ve had a sweet tooth for as long as I can remember…I credit my grandpa for spoiling me as a tot with bags of Hershey’s minis accompanied by the Lion King.

I moved to North Carolina when I was 11 and discovered an unexplored territory of desserts. Pecan pie, peach cobbler, pralines and banana pudding—the topic of this blog post. Between bites of banana pudding from Fosters Market on Sunday, I told my friends that I’d write my next blog about it, and despite their laughs, here it is. It took me a while to discover the Nilla wafer, banana, whipped cream-layered concoction that is banana pudding. It’s not the most appealing dessert on the shelf, but once I tried it, I committed to “taste testing” it almost everywhere.

These are some of my favorite ‘nana puddins:

  1. Allen & Son Barbecue (Pittsboro, N.C.): Baby, you the best. But really, this banana pudding is amazing. You take a bite and get all of the components of banana pudding, as in, you won’t get a bite that’s missing something. The pudding almost tastes like cake batter, but in the best way possible and there’s always just enough meringue. I usually favor whipped cream over meringue, but Allen & Son can convert me to the meringue side. I’ve been to a couple of events catered by Allen & Son and shamelessly make a to-go box of this sinfully delicious zert.

    Image

    Allen & Son Banana Pudding

  2. Foster’s Market (Chapel Hill, N.C.): Everything in Fosters’ dessert display case looks magazine-cover worthy, so it’s easy to overlook the bowl of naturally sloppy banana pudding. But don’t. Or just eat two desserts and make one of them the banana pudding. This one has whipped cream as it’s glue and doesn’t skimp on the bananas. Honestly, banana pudding without real chunks of bananas isn’t worth eating.
  3. Casey’s Buffet & BBQ (Wilmington, N.C.): Casey’s is your grandma’s southern cooking in an all-you-can-eat buffet, which means you can eat as much banana pudding as you want (!). I think they use a boxed pudding mix, but Yelp reviewers note it as “the best banana pudding in Wilmington”, so clearly, people don’t mind. It’s the low maintenance sibling of all my favorite banana puddings—cool whip, banana chunks, Nillas and store-bought pudding mix, but honestly, it’s the best I’ve had in Wilmington too.

    Image

    Casey’s Buffet & BBQ

Leave a Reply

