Curl Talk: Deva Curl Review

A couple of years ago, I got a text from my mom that said, “Alden! You need to get No-Poo Shampoo by DevaCurl!” I laughed out loud and asked her what it was. Usually, I don’t trust shampoos that say they’re “made for curly hair” because I’ve never experienced any notable results. I didn’t go out and buy No-Poo Shampoo. However, that Christmas, my mom gave me a giant bottle of No-Poo and another giant bottle of DevaCurl One Condition. I had to try them out.

The first time I used the shampoo, I was thrown off because it’s non-lathering, meaning it doesn’t make suds like normal shampoos. This is because most shampoos have dehydrating detergents that have the lathering effect. So, it really does feel like conditioner in a way. Once I got past the fact that there weren’t bubbles in my hair, I really liked it–it smells great and you still feel like you have clean hair.

Now, onto the conditioner. The One Condition really sold me. On the back of the bottle, it says to leave the product in for a few minutes, and you have to because it needs time to work its magic. But the result is seriously magic. I used to have to coax a comb through my hair, which was both painful and time consuming..and left me with a few less hair strands. With Deva Curl, I can comb my hair without any knotty disruptions. And when my hair dries, my curls look defined and like they’ve been hydrated by a deep condition.

This past summer, I lived in D.C., and got my first Deva Curl haircut–the founder also created an entirely new way to cut curly hair–cutting it dry. I was skeptical because it was the opposite of a standard haircut. I mean, cutting my hair dirty, and then washing it?!? To ease my fear, my hairdresser handed me the Curly Girl Handbook (also by Deva Curl), and it all made sense. Curls have a natural way that they fall, which isn’t visible when the hair is wet. Cutting curly hair dry enables the hairdresser to see where the curls want to bounce, if you will. Rather than cutting them off in awkward places, the dry hair cut works with the curls. It’s a great way to do it, and I would definitely recommend for every curl gal to try it out at least once.

Leave a Reply

